To Adversity I Replied

angry2

 

To Adversity I replied:

“I won’t stop breathing!

Won’t
lie down and die!”

No shameful cry:
“Uncle!”

though, you demand
with fingers
snarled in my hair,

Both hands
entwined,

mashing my face in sand.

In Pit and Mire–
more aptly described.

Your goal
again
new

for me to expire.

“I won’t stop breathing!”
to Adversity I replied,

When
you demand
I lie down and die!

“Ludicrous!” you deny…
“Pit and mire?”

“Okay!

Demand–insidiously
implied.” … You in effect,
maligning my senses.

I didn’t stammer: “I’m still conscious;

not totally senseless!”

Crushed;
suppressed–

my Smile?

“No!”

Though, I’ve been burned.

You

Aware,

Knowing

even lips chapped

Upturned,

however cracked and bleeding,

can elicit

much More

than
a spurn.

But,

turn or roll me over

someone special.
Please!

Appease with these:

Soft face,

hand too,

extended,

stretching to ease.

My eyes moistened by pain,

still notes

the slight tilt of your lids–
your eyes,

when in compassion

crinkles.

Lifts

my soul to the highs!

Smile! Do Smile!

Therein lies:

expressed
hope
magnanimous!

A heart
open,
warm
and generous!

My chance to defy

again

To Adversity–

with
help
to reply:

“I didn’t stop breathing
when you

commanded:

“Die!”

Based on: Isa. 41:13; 40:11; 2 Chronicles.16: 9; 1 Sam. 12:22; 1 Pe. 3:12; Acts 20:35; Eph. 4:32; Heb. 13:2.
anger
Leave a Reply

