Meltdown

Meltdown (Inspired by Full Fathom Five, 1947 by Jackson Pollock)

full-fathom-five

not slow the burn

I’ve earned
it over the years
spurning no extended hands

now I’ve fallen
hot where I land

once precious metal to a mom
pinched sterling silver
to keep her calm

to dad a boy to shoot some hoop

I’ve failed them both

in mind a man who’d gain the world
to she a sore,

though when we danced…

I watched the curl of her lip
like ‘I’m a locked door
to her happiness’
she wished I’d taken that navy ship
for only this she thinks I’m equipped

everywhere I step it clangs ‘mistake’
my every choice they hate I’d made
yet, sure to trip if I don’t remain sedated…

which path remains for me to take

since rolling eyes state “you’re a fake”

since rolling eyes state “you’re a fake”

since rolling eyes state “you’re a fake”

***

not slow to burn

yes this I’ve earned
over the years

Leave a Reply

